Photographs from His Holiness Karmapa's UK visit 2017

Sunday, 10 May 2020

Ringu Tulku Rinpoche will be giving three teachings on the Medicine Buddha Sadhana on Monday11th May
Tuesday 12th May
Wednesday 13th May
at 2.30 GMT / 3.30 pm Irish time
The selected root text is Karma Chagme's
Sadhana of Bhaisajya Guru
Wednesday's session will include a reading transmission (lung) and empowerment (wang)


Please go to Bodhicharya.org to register for attendance.

Rinpoche's teachings on Bodhicharyavatara continue to be uploaded twice weekly, on Tuesdays and Fridays.

This is a direct link to the place you can make a donation for the teachings during this time.

Sunday, 3 May 2020

Bodhicharyavatara Ch 6 V 94 - 97

Ringu Tulku Rinpoche in teaching mudra, with his Uncle,    
Thondup Dorje.Wall painting in Rigul Monastery, 
Kham Eastern Tibet.   Photo Francois Henrard. jpg


Here  Rinpoche summarises the three kinds of Patience, and talks about the temporal nature of sound and the need to develop a deeper understanding of the source of our misguided view: that another persons’ praise for ourselves and our loved ones is a genuine cause for happiness.  To find genuine happiness we must let go the idea that contentment comes from outside ourselves. No-one else can know what is best for us, and neither can I know what is best for another person. Everyone is different, so I must be patient with my own and another persons’ expectations.

Thursday, 30 April 2020

Bodhicharya Teaching Ch 6 V 92-93

Ringu Tulku Rinpoche in teaching mudra, with his Uncle,  
Thondup Dorje.Wall painting in Rigul Monastery, 
Kham Eastern Tibet.   Photo Francois Henrard. jpg


Continuing the practice of Patience, in the following verses 92 and 93 we are examining the effects and consequences of giving in to anger and hatred.  We naturally want to defend ourselves and loved ones and those we consider kin, and to punish or retaliate in some other way when we feel threatened by attacks from others, or when it seems our enemy is being given credence or unjustly praised for what we see as negative behaviour.  

Friday, 24 April 2020

Bodhicharyavatara Teaching Ch 6 V 90-91

Ringu Tulku Rinpoche in teaching mudra, with his Uncle, Thondup Dorje 
From a wall painting in Rigul Monastery, Kham, Eastern Tibet.   
Photo:  Francois Henrard. jpg




In session 6, Rinpoche talks about placing the focus for our Patience onto situations where we or our loved ones are experiencing negativity from others––even while we are attempting to do something that could be seen as praiseworthy. 

Bodhicharyavatara Teaching, Ch 6 V 87-89

Ringu Tulku Rinpoche in teaching mudra, with his Uncle,    
Thondup Dorje.Wall painting in Rigul Monastery, 
Kham Eastern Tibet.   Photo Francois Henrard. jpg

Rinpoche has now completed his synopsis of the first volumes of the text and in Session 6 returns to the actual verses, beginning with verse 87, which examines the pitfalls of rejoicing when unhappiness befalls ones’ enemies or when someone gives help or is of benefit to those people we consider our enemy.  

Saturday, 18 April 2020

Live question and answer session with Rinpoche

This Sunday, 19th April, Rinpoche will take part in a live question and answer session here (on this page) on The Ringu Tulku Archive. Rinpoche will answer questions submitted on the recent Bodhicharyavatara course.
If you click on the ZOOM link below and enter your name and email address you will receive a live link that will provide a connection for the Q & A on Sunday 19th April.

The new updated time for this meeting will be 1.30pm British Summer Time 

Please note that the starting time of this event has been changed and is now 2 hours earlier, at 12:30 pm GMT/UTC. For the relative time in your own country, see the table at the bottom of this page.
There is still time to submit your question if you have not done so already. Both Archive members and non-members can submit questions on the following teachings (at the bottom of the page):
Questions will continue to be gathered until 7pm (GMT) on Saturday 18th April.
The live question and answer session will be conducted using Zoom Webinar and all are welcome to register to join via Zoom using the registration link below:

Register on Zoom

After Rinpoche has answered the questions submitted via the website, we hope to open the webinar up to questions asked live via Zoom. Participants will be able to use the “Raise Hand” function in the App to be queued to ask Rinpoche a question face to face.
Please note that both you (your video image) and your question will be broadcast live to everyone watching and will also be recorded to be made available here as a recorded video after the session. If you are not comfortable with that you can simply submit your question via the form on the teaching pages listed above before the deadline.
We plan to start the live webinar at 12:30pm (GMT) which is the following times in different locations:
GMT12:30 pm GMT
Gangtok, India6:00 pm IST
Dublin, Ireland1:30 pm IST
London, United Kingdom1:30 pm BST
Lisbon, Portugal1:30 pm WEST
Berlin, Germany2:30 pm CEST
Paris, France2:30 pm CEST
Madrid, Spain2:30 pm CEST
South Africa2:30 pm SAST
Helsinki, Finland3:30 pm EEST
New ZealandMon 02:30 am NZT
New York, USA8:30 am EDT
Seattle, US
5:30 am PDT


Bodhicharyavatara Teaching session five, Ch 6.

Ringu Tulku Rinpoche in teaching mudra, with his Uncle,
Thondup Dorje.Wall painting in Rigul Monastery, Kham
Eastern Tibet. Photo Francois Henrard. jpg


Here Rinpoche discusses the 72 objects of our patience and asks that we extend our awareness to the immediate causes and conditions behind situations that test our patience, to try to understand the suffering of a person when we feel tested and to try to see what is causing them to behave in a particular way.